The Flowing City

Art, portfolio, school

For our final assignment for Drawing Foundation, we had to draw a three-point perspective cityscape of our own imagination. Let’s talk about that.

-Good Mythical Morning intro-

Let’s start off by explaining the assignment that was given to us. Firstly, we had to come up with 5 thumbnails that will help to guide us for our assignment, which is to be drawn on an A3 drawing block (A HUGE MEDIUM FOR ME). Sounds pretty simple, right? Come up with 5 thumbnails with original ideas so that life is easier for you. Well, let’s just say that’s the part where I struggled the most. I could not think of any ideas that is interesting and true to myself and would also impress the teachers, so I spent a ton of pages on my sketchbook just doing thumbnails. I used around 6 pages of paper, solely for the sake of thumbnails.

Now, how did I solve the problem, I hear you say?

One day, while thinking of said issue, I was watching one of my favourite K-Drama, Hwayugi or A Korean Odyessey. And as I was observing the surroundings in the show, I remembered in the first episode, there was the Marble Mountains. The place where Son O Gong (Monkey King) was being detained and locked in.

Hwayugi, 2018

And the interior strikes me as interesting, moody yet calming. At this point, I had an epiphany.

I will do a cityscape based on this!

The theme will be enlightenment and the path to nirvana. And there I started my journey to create a meaningful artwork that would satisfy not only myself, but also my teachers.

Final Thumbnail by Giraffe

So after many attempts (3 actually), I finally came up with this. My teacher did say, “Please shift your house to the left side and move your buddha statue to the front so it would give a more dynamic composition.’ And I’m like EEEEEEEEEEEE.

But I did, of course, listen to her when I started working on my final draft.

So after hours and hours and hours of shading, drawing, banging my head on the table, we finally have this. And oh lord I’m so proud of it!

The Flowing City by Xuan Lee, 2019

Here is my rationale for my art piece.

The cityscape is inspired by Eckhart Tolle’s teachings and a building and interior designs from the show ‘Hwayugi’. The city is located inside a giant cave with a waterfall. The reason why the city is in the cave, it is everything that is formed in caves are natural and formed without resistance ; flowing along the path of life. People should not resist and deny their path of fate and accept whatever that is coming their way. They should flow and grow like water, and allow themselves to be a part of the universe.

This place is a city of solace and repose. A city of enlightenment and purpose. It is meant for those seeking for peace and another reality to escape their problems and bring themselves back to their inner purpose. 

So far, the comments that the teachers gave me wasn’t that bad. There is definitely room for improvement (since this is my first time drawing a cityscape at such a large scale), but overall, I am very proud of what I did. Yes, I had to make some changes to the original idea (like replacing the Buddha statue with a giant Bonsai tree and shifting the waterfall to the middle).

Let’s pray that I have an A+ for this module!!!! I hope you learn something new from here! ❤

Leave a comment